Q1. How do I become a registered Maryland patient?
Give our office a call at 1-844-My-Marijuana or use our online scheduling system to make your appointment. First, you have to register as a patient with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. Then you need a certification from a doctor or other health-care provider registered with the state. For patients under age 18, a parent or legal guardian age 21 or older must register with the commission as a caregiver before registering the patient.
Q2. How do I find a doctor who will recommend marijuana?
Maryland doesn’t want unscrupulous medical professionals handing out phony marijuana recommendations for anyone who pays. Providers need to meet with patients in person and have a “bona fide” relationship with them before issuing certifications (which aren’t called prescriptions, for legal reasons). All of our doctors are professionals with advanced knowledge of medical marijuana.
Q3. What conditions qualify for medical marijuana in Maryland?
The law lists these conditions as treatable with medical cannabis: Cachexia or wasting syndrome, anorexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder and chronic pain.
But the regulations also have a catchall provision that allows physicians and other providers to recommend cannabis for patients if they think doing so is in the patients’ best medical interests.
Q4. Are different strains or products available at different dispensaries?
Yes. Many dispensaries offer different strains of dried marijuana with different properties designed to help treat various ailments. In addition to the dried plant, some dispensaries offer liquids that can be vaporized, oils, concentrates, topical ointments, wax, pills and accessories. Some extracts can be added to foods at home, but edible marijuana products are not available from Maryland dispensaries.
Q5. How much does it cost? Will insurance pay for it?
Health insurance companies are not required to cover medical cannabis costs, but private health insurers can develop policies that will cover medical cannabis.
The fee for the physician recommendation is $150 CASH. If you make your appointment online, there is a $25 down payment/registration fee and then you will bring the remaining $125 CASH to the physician appointment.
Q6. What should I bring to my appointment?
After we have scheduled your appointment, you will receive a confirmation email of the location and a list of everything to bring with you. Please bring the following:
Government issued photo ID
$150 cash payment for physician recommendation (or $125 if registered online)
Q7. How long should this take?
Plan to be at the physician’s office for approximately one hour.
Q8. Where do I purchase Medical Marijuana?
Currently, there are several fully operational dispensaries in Maryland. In order to visit any of these dispensaries you need to first visit with a doctor and receive a reccomendation.
Q9. How much medical marijuana can I possess at one time?
Patients can carry up to 120 grams (about four ounces) unless a physician determines a patient needs more. In extract forms, customers are allowed to obtain up to 36 grams of THC (the active ingredient in marijuana) per month.
Q10. What happens if I am stopped by law enforcement and carrying medical marijuana?
Patients do not have to consent to a search, nor do they have to disclose that they possess medical marijuana. If medical cannabis is found during a search, the patient should present their patient ID card or direct law enforcement officials to the marijuana commission’s database.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is still a crime.
Q11. I have a certification for medical marijuana. Can I give my medical marijuana to someone else?
Q12. Where can I travel with my medical marijuana?
A legal patient may travel to any location in the state of Maryland (other than federal government property when in possession of medical cannabis). Possession of cannabis is a violation of federal law and Maryland residents should carefully read the current state statutes regarding the use of medical cannabis and be aware that taking cannabis across State lines is a federal offense. Cannabis is also illegal on federal government property. The State of Maryland laws cannot authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.
Q13. Can patients grow their own medical marijuana?
No, Maryland law does not allow this.
Q14. Is my info kept confidential?