How to Become a Maryland Patient or Caregiver
Visit a registered physician to see if medical cannabis could be the alternative treatment option for you.
A patient needs an in-person visit with a registered physician with whom the patient has a “bona fide physician-patient relationship.”
If the patient meets the physician’s criteria for treatment with medical cannabis, the physician will issue a written certification.
The physician records the written certification on the Commission’s website.
You may show your government issued ID when purchasing your medicine. A physical patient ID card is not required but you may request one when you receive your written certification for $50. Replacement cards are $100.
Register via Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission website.
STEP 3: GET YOUR MEDICINE
Once registered, a patient will go to a doctor who has also registered with the Commission to obtain a “written certification.”
After your visit to a registered physician to receive your written certification you may visit one of premier Maryland Dispensaries to pick up your medicine.
Maryland Medical Cannabis Program
Maryland residents have legal protections available to them under Maryland Criminal Code §5-60. Our physicians will continue to consult with patients and provide “Use out of Medical Necessity” certifications when appropriate. We hear so much about decriminalization of cannabis, and the medical cannabis program, but we don’t often hear about the Medical Necessity law. When possession was a criminal offense, medical necessity was used as a defense in court, and if properly used, lessens the maximum penalty to a $100 fine. While this solution is not perfect it does offer some protection to PATIENTS while they wait for Maryland Medical Cannabis program to be fully operational. Here at CannX we feel it is very important to empower patients with every LEGAL option available to them!